À essayer en premier
Head & Shoulders Classic Clean Dandruff Shampoo
La bouteille la moins chère au millilitre, et un premier essai raisonnable pour des pellicules et des démangeaisons ordinaires.
Même usage · trois actifs différents
Ce que cette page vous apporte: Quel shampooing essayer en premier, ce que coûte un lavage, et ce que les études montrent ou non.
À essayer en premier
Head & Shoulders Classic Clean Dandruff Shampoo
La bouteille la moins chère au millilitre, et un premier essai raisonnable pour des pellicules et des démangeaisons ordinaires.
Que faire ensuite
Si un mois d’utilisation régulière n’a rien changé, passez à un autre ingrédient actif, comme le kétoconazole de Nizoral, plutôt qu’à un plus grand format du même produit.
Ce que cette page ne peut pas vous dire
Rien ici ne montre qu’une de ces trois bouteilles agit mieux qu’une autre. Le kétoconazole est l’ingrédient le mieux étudié.
Les prix sont une observation datée, pas une offre en cours.
Premier essai le moins cher · 1 % de pyrithione de zinc
$1.71 par 100 mL1% pyrithione zinc · 613 mL bottle
Nous avons cherché une liste d’ingrédients publiée pour ce flacon sans la trouver · vérifié le 2026-08-23
Not every flaky scalp is dandruff. This fragranced formula contains recognized contact allergens; stop if irritation develops and check the current package.
Vérification de la formule du fabricant ↗Source vérifiée de la formule ↗
Un autre actif · 1 % de sulfure de sélénium
$3.24 par 100 mL1% selenium sulfide · 400 mL bottle
Nous avons cherché une liste d’ingrédients publiée pour ce flacon sans la trouver · vérifié le 2026-08-23
The current label uses selenium sulfide rather than pyrithione zinc. Both checked lists include fragrance, but only Walmart's list includes MCI/MI and Red 4; the official page instead lists menthol and peppermint oils. Check your bottle during this possible formula transition.
Vérification de la formule du fabricant ↗Vérification de la formule du détaillant ↗
Actif le mieux étudié · 2 % de kétoconazole
$13.99 par 100 mL2% ketoconazole · 200 mL bottle
Nous avons cherché une liste d’ingrédients publiée pour ce flacon sans la trouver · vérifié le 2026-08-23
Labelled for ages over 12. It is not a hair-growth product or a treatment for every scaly scalp; pain, drainage, or patchy hair loss needs assessment.
Source vérifiée de la formule ↗Source vérifiée de la formule ↗
Ce qui diffèreClassic Clean contains 1% pyrithione zinc, Clinical Strength contains 1% selenium sulfide, and Nizoral contains 2% ketoconazole. Their directions, tolerability, and response can differ.
One question per row. The green check marks that row's better answer — there is no overall winner.
| Vérification | Head & Shoulders1% pyrithione zinc | H&S Clinical Strength1% selenium sulfide | Nizoral2% ketoconazole |
|---|---|---|---|
| Cleared dandruff in studiesas judged by scientists independent of the makers | —independent reviews found the evidence too weak to give a number | —manufacturer testing is available, but no independent estimate is shown here | Meilleure réponse de cette ligne.52 in 100 clearedvs 31 in 100 on a no-medicine shampoo · estimate from 8 studies · evidence not strong |
| Head to headone 28-day study · severe dandruff | cleared for fewer people | manufacturer comparison onlynot used as an independent effectiveness estimate | Meilleure réponse de cette ligne.about 1 more person in 10had their dandruff clear · wide margin of error · a second, smaller study found no difference |
| Studies on recordClinicalTrials.gov · Sep 4, 2026 | 0shampoo makers rarely list studies here — 0 doesn't mean it failsVoir la source ↗ | 0 exact-product recordsmanufacturer material is separate from the registry | Meilleure réponse de cette ligne.8results posted for 4 of themVoir la source ↗ |
Tout ce qui précède en détail : les vérifications côte à côte, les résultats de chaque étude, les étiquettes et nos sources.
Les preuves détaillées ci-dessous sont rédigées en anglais.
Aperçu de la comparaison
The three shampoos provide three active-ingredient choices. Nizoral is the only one whose online label states a measurable dose, so it is the only one with a defensible cost-per-wash estimate.
Classic Clean was the lowest unit cost at $1.71 per 100 mL, Clinical Strength was $3.24, and Nizoral was $13.99. Those prices do not show that one active will work better for a particular scalp.
Start with Head & Shoulders — the cheaper bottle and a sensible first try for ordinary flakes and itch. If a month of regular use doesn't help, switch to a shampoo with a different active ingredient — like Nizoral's ketoconazole — rather than buying a bigger bottle.
Ce qui correspond
All three are rinse-off medicated shampoos labelled for dandruff and priced in millilitres in the Canadian market.
Ce qui diffère
Classic Clean contains 1% pyrithione zinc, Clinical Strength contains 1% selenium sulfide, and Nizoral contains 2% ketoconazole. Their directions, tolerability, and response can differ.
Limite des preuves
Evidence on this page supports the ingredient, product type, or prevention step. It doesn't prove any one of these exact products is better.
All three are medicated dandruff shampoos. The evidence differs sharply: Classic Clean has a branded randomized U.S. maintenance study conducted in 2022, Clinical Strength has manufacturer product-line testing, and Nizoral has a small registered study with posted results. None establishes which current bottle is best.
~A real trial, but we can't confirm it used this bottle's formula
In a U.S. study run in May and June 2022, 100 people used Head & Shoulders Classic Clean three times a week for two weeks. Half then kept using it while half switched to an ordinary shampoo — sorted into groups at random, with neither the participants nor the researchers told who got which. Four weeks on, the group that stayed with it averaged a flaking score of 6.6 (SE 1.1) on the study's scale, and the gap between the groups was far too large to be chance (p<0.001). But the paper never printed the other group's score, or the size of that gap, so there is no way to say how much better it actually was.
Réserve : This was a U.S. study run by the brand, and everyone used the medicated shampoo first — the test was whether flaking came back after some people stopped. It did not start people fresh against a dummy shampoo. The paper does not identify an auditable formula or lot, so it is not verified as the current U.S. label formula and cannot be transferred to the maintained Canadian 613 mL bottle.
Locker et al., International Journal of Cosmetic Science, 2025 (study conducted in 2022) ↗Pyrithione zinc trial record →
~Tested by the maker, not by independent scientists
Head & Shoulders publishes a clinical results leaflet for its selenium-sulfide Clinical Strength range. It supports the active and product line, but it is manufacturer-produced and does not establish that the current Dry Scalp Rescue bottle is better than another current shampoo.
Réserve : Methods and current-formula identity are not independently verified here, so this is not treated as a comparative win.
Head & Shoulders Clinical Strength clinical-efficacy insert ↗Selenium sulfide trial record →
✓A registered trial with published results, but only eight people finished
In a study of 23 African-American women with dandruff who washed their hair once a week or less, each person tried the treatments in turn, in an order picked at random. Of the eight who finished the shampoo stretch, dandruff severity fell from an average of 28.6 at the start to 2.1 after four weeks on the study's scale — though individual scores varied widely around both averages. No serious side effects, or side effects of any other kind, were reported. The registry lists "Nizoral" only as another name for the 2% ketoconazole shampoo used; it records nothing about who made it or where it was bought, and the study was run by St. Louis University, not by a manufacturer.
Réserve : Eight people finished that stretch of the study, nobody was given a dummy shampoo or the plain base, and only the person scoring the results was kept unaware of who used what, so the drop cannot be attributed to the shampoo alone.
NCT01203189, results posted 2017-11-06 ↗Ketoconazole trial record →
Registry, PubMed/PMC, official product pages, and manufacturer material were reconciled on September 4, 2026. Classic Clean's 2022 U.S. study does not establish current-formula identity or Canadian-package equivalence. The strongest head-to-head result compares ketoconazole with pyrithione zinc, not all three finished bottles, and manufacturer testing for Clinical Strength does not prove that it beats either alternative.
Dernière recherche :
For each evidence row, search the quoted evidence-row product name, then the quoted brand plus the distinctive product-name tokens. A brand-wide statement additionally requires a quoted brand-name search. Formula codes are added only when an official or study source discloses them.
Ce que cela ne vous dit pas : A negative maintained search is a dated coverage statement, not proof that no study exists in another database, language, registry, sponsor archive, unpublished report, or differently named formula.
Same on all three: rinse-off medicated dandruff shampoo · non-prescription · fragranced
| Fait d’étiquette | Head & ShouldersClassic Clean Dandruff Shampoo | Head & ShouldersClinical Strength Dry Scalp Rescue Shampoo | NizoralAnti-Dandruff Shampoo |
|---|---|---|---|
| Active | Pyrithione zinc 1% | Selenium sulfide 1% | Ketoconazole 2% |
| Schedule | At least 2× a weekHealth Canada class rule · brand suggests daily | Use every washcurrent brand directions | 2× a week for 2–4 weeksthen every 1–2 weeks · Drug Facts label |
| Amount per use | Not stated | Not stated | 1–2 tsp (5–10 mL)tsp on the Drug Facts label · mL from the product monograph |
| Contact time | 2–3 minHealth Canada class rule | Not stated online | 3–5 minDrug Facts label |
| Age on label | Not stated on the checked labelHealth Canada's class rule covers ages 2+ | Not stated in the checked online directions | 12+under 12: ask a doctor |
| Contact allergens | MCI/MI on the brand listnot on Walmart's ingredient list — check your bottle | Fragrance on both listsMCI/MI only on Walmart's list · formula transition | Imidazolidinyl urea · cocamide DEA |
Classic Clean's schedule, contact-time, and age rows are Health Canada's required class text for 1% pyrithione zinc shampoos, not a transcription of the 613 mL bottle. The current Head & Shoulders and Walmart Canada ingredient lists for Clinical Strength conflict, so the formula is treated as unresolved during a possible transition. MCI/MI = methylchloroisothiazolinone/methylisothiazolinone. Prices were checked July 30–Aug 22, 2026.
Après les preuves
En tant que Partenaire Amazon, Skinlogie réalise un bénéfice sur les achats admissibles, sans coût supplémentaire pour vous. Les liens mènent aux fiches de produits exactes lorsqu’elles sont vérifiées.